Female rap trio Tribade nominated for the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards 2020
Female rap trio Tribade nominated for the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards 2020

The Barcelona band is featured among 16 nominees for the awards granted by the European Commission

The winners will be announced at the Eurosonic in January

Tribade, a rap group from Barcelona made up of three young women, has been nominated for the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards 2020, the annual awards granted by the European Commission for popular and contemporary music and up-and-coming talent. The nomination was announced on Friday 20 September at the Reeperbahn Festival in Hamburg.

The Music Moves Europe Talent Awards look to recognise the talent of up-and-coming artists who represent the continent's current and future sound, and who stand out because of their international success. With 8 winners each year, the awards aim to support and encourage new talent in the European Union, granting €10,000 to each winning group which they must dedicate to promoting their international tours and concerts. The winners will also have the opportunity to perform at the Eurosonic, which will take place in Groningen in the Netherlands from 15 to 18 January 2020.

For this edition of the Music Moves European Talent Awards, 16 groups have been selected as finalists through the European Border Breakers Chart and through recommendations from producers and members. The other artists nominated this year are: 5K HD (Austria), Anna Leone (Sweden), AU/RA (Germany), Beast in Black (Finland), Charlotte Adigéry (Belgium), Flohio (United Kingdom), Fontaines D.C. (Ireland), Girl in red (Norway), Harmed (Hungary), Hugo Helmig (Denmark), Kimberose (France), Meduza (Italy), Naaz (The Netherlands), Perfect Son (Poland) and Pongo (Portugal). A panel of professional judges will eventually select the winners for the Music Moves European Talent Awards 2020, choosing 8 winning groups from these 16 finalists.

In addition to the 8 winning groups, music fans from all over Europe will also be able to vote for their favourite artist (from the 16 finalists) and the group with the most votes will win the Public Choice Award 2020 and receive €5,000. Voting is open to the public and the winners will be revealed at the ceremony in Groningen on 17 January 2020.The public's 2018 winner was Rosalía, who also won the award in the R&B/Urban category.

The international judges panel for this year's awards will be made up of Steinuun Jósdóttir (member of the all-female Icelandic hip-hop formation Reykjavíkurdætur), Huw Stephens (BBC Radio 1 presenter), Katia Giampolo (CEO Estragon Club Italy), Wilbert Mutsaers (head of content at Spotify Benelux), Julia Gudzent (festival programmer), Bjørn Pfarr (artistic director for Reeperbahn Festival) and Robert Meijerink (artistic director for Eurosonic Noorderslag Festival).


Tribade, made up of Sombra Alor, Bittah, Masiva Lulla and DJ Big Mark, represent a fresh and original combination of rap with flamenco, soul, afrotrap and reggeaton with lyrics that advocate local and neighbourhood struggles, as well as LGBT and anti-fascist activism.

Their journey started in November 2017 with the release of their first two singles, Gaupasa and Mujeres on YouTube. Due to the popularity of these tracks, they've gone on to work with high-profile Catalan and Spanish producers and, finally, on 8 February of this year, they released their first album, Las Desheredadas. The album features thirteen songs and some impressive collaborations, like the one with rapper Arianna Puello on Asalto.

After the release of their debut album, in March they started a tour in Berlin, which then took them to the United States of America, Mexico, Portugal, France and other cities in Spain.

You can vote for Tribade by heading to the group's profile on the Music Moves European Talent Awards website:

Music Moves Europe Talent Awards

The Music Moves Europe Talent Awards are organised by the Eurosonic (ESNS) and Reeperbahn Festivals in association with Yourope, Independent Music Companies Association (IMPALA), International Music Managers Forum (IMMF), Liveurope, Live DMA, European Music Exporters Exchange (EMEE), Digital Music Europe (DME) and media partners the European Broadcasting Union (EBU). They are also supported by Music Moves Europe, the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science in the Netherlands, the province of Groningen and the city of Groningen. The awards are granted in cooperation with the European Commission and with the financial support of Creative Europe.


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.